Filing Deadline Passes, Revealing Roster Of Eugene City Council/EWEB Candidates For May Primary

Mar 1, 2018

The candidate filing deadline for the May Primary has passed, and several Eugene city councilor races are contested.

Eugene, Oregon.
Credit Maciek Lulko /

For Ward 3, incumbent Councilor Alan Zelenka faces newcomers Thomas Bruno and Hugh Paterson III.

For Ward 5, incumbent Mike Clark is being challenged by Christopher Dean, a real estate broker.

Ward 4 Councilor Jennifer Yeh will run unopposed. A potential challenger for Ward 6 did not complete their filing paperwork, leaving incumbent Councilor Greg Evans unopposed as well.

The primary election is May 15th. If a candidate gets more than half of the vote, their name will be the only one featured on the November ballot. If no one gets a majority, the top two-vote getters advance to a runoff election.

A handful of candidates will also compete for the Eugene Water and Electric Board’s At-Large position, while EWEB’s Wards 4 & 5 has only one candidate.

John Simpson is not seeking re-election, which leaves his at-large, citywide seat open. The three candidates are Mindy Schlossberg, Victor Odlivak, and Zach Mulholland.

Incumbent John Brown represents North Eugene on the EWEB board. He’s running again, unopposed.  Brown joined the board in 2007 and is currently its president.

Copyright 2018, KLCC.