Lane County To Move Into Moderate Risk Category

Jun 1, 2021

Credit Tiffany Eckert

In an update on COVID-19 risk levels Tuesday, Oregon Gov. Kate Brown announced Lane County will move from High to Moderate Risk for transmission starting Friday June 4 through June 10.

Overall, 13 counties will be considered High Risk, with four categorized as Moderate, including Lane, and 19 will be grouped in the Lower Risk category. 


To move into the lower risk category, at least 65 percent of adult residents need at least one dose of the vaccine, and the county must submit documentation on how they will close equity gaps in their vaccination efforts.


As of Tuesday, Lane County needs to administer 2,863 prime doses to meet this criteria.


Full list of Oregon Risk Levels from the State of Oregon:


County Risk Categories, Effective June 4-10

Lower Risk (19)

  • Baker
  • Benton
  • Clatsop (Moved from Moderate)
  • Deschutes
  • Gilliam
  • Grant
  • Harney*
  • Hood River
  • Lake
  • Lincoln
  • Morrow
  • Multnomah
  • Sherman
  • Tillamook
  • Union
  • Wallowa
  • Washington
  • Wheeler

Moderate Risk (4)

  • Coos**
  • Lane (Moved from High)
  • Polk (Moved from High)
  • Wasco

High Risk (13)

  • Clackamas
  • Columbia
  • Crook
  • Douglas
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Josephine
  • Klamath
  • Linn
  • Malheur
  • Marion
  • Umatilla
  • Yamhill

Extreme Risk (0)

*Harney County meets the criteria for Moderate Risk, but is given a warning week at Lower Risk (June 4-10). **Coos County met the criteria for High Risk last week, but was given a two-week caution period at Moderate Risk (May 27 through June 10).

Copyright 2021 KLCC