© 2023 KLCC

136 W 8th Ave
Eugene OR 97401

Contact Us

FCC Applications
Oregon's Willamette Valley seen from Eugene
NPR for Oregonians
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Star Ducks Rack Up Awards For 2019-20 Season


Major accolades continue to pile on for some of the University of Oregon’s star athletes.

The Women’s Basketball Coaches’ Association has given senior powerhouse Sabrina Ionescu the prestigious Wade Trophy…her second in two years.  It’s presented to the NCAA Division I national player of the year.

Ionescu and fellow senior Ruthy Hebard have also been named to the 2020 John R. Wooden Award. It’s Hebard’s first and Ionescu’s third consecutive time winning this honor. This makes Oregon the only team with multiple student-athletes on the five-player all-America team.

The duo led the Ducks to a 31-2 overall record and a sweep of the Pac-12 regular season and tournament titles last season, before the NCAA tournament was canceled due to COVID-19.

Ionescu has also been named a finalist for the Class of 2020 Honda Sport Award for women’s college basketball.

Credit GoDucks.com
Payton Pritchard, of the U of O's men's basketball team.

Finally, senior men’s basketball star Payton Pritchard earned his 13th first-team All-America honor of the season. He is the fourth Duck named to the all-Wooden team, and one of five national finalists for both the Naismith Trophy and the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award. 

Pritchard scored at least 20 points against ten different Pac-12 opponents this season.

Copyright 2020, KLCC.

Brian Bull joined the KLCC News Team in June 2016. In his 25+ years as a public media journalist, he's worked at NPR, Twin Cities Public Television, South Dakota Public Broadcasting, Wisconsin Public Radio, and ideastream in Cleveland. His reporting has netted dozens of accolades, including four national Edward R. Murrow Awards (19 regional), the Ohio Associated Press' Best Reporter Award, Best Radio Reporter from the Native American Journalists Association, and the PRNDI/NEFE Award for Excellence in Consumer Finance Reporting.
Related Content