© 2023 KLCC

136 W 8th Ave
Eugene OR 97401

Contact Us

FCC Applications
Oregon's Willamette Valley seen from Eugene
NPR for Oregonians
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Roseburg High's 'Indians' Mascot Narrowly Retained

Roseburg Public Schools' on YouTube

A controversial Native American-themed mascot will be kept at Roseburg High School for the indefinite future.

School board members had to unanimously approve a motion to eliminate the “Roseburg Indians”, and the vote fell one short of that at a meeting this week.  Director Charles Lee was the dissenting vote.

Amanda Mendoza is a member of Roseburg High’s Class of 2001, and is Muskogee Creek, Choctaw, and Cherokee heritage.  For the past year, she's circulated a petition to have the "Indians" removed, as major sports franchises in Washington D.C. and Cleveland have done with their Native American-themed team names.  Talking to KLCC, Mendoza shared her disappointment with the meeting’s outcome.

“It’s a system that continues to fail students and families of color, or who identify outside the white dominant culture.  I know that the mascot will change eventually…some day. But today is not the day.”

Mendoza says research shows Indian-themed mascots harm the well-being of Native American students.  She and other activists will review their next steps.

A proponent of the “Indians” mascot was contacted, but did not commit to an interview for this story.  Roseburg High and the Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Indians have had an agreement to use the mascot since 2017, as allowed under Oregon state law.  Backers say the mascot honors Native Americans, and is a long-standing traditon at RHS.

Copyright 2021, KLCC. 

Brian Bull joined the KLCC News Team in June 2016. In his 25+ years as a public media journalist, he's worked at NPR, Twin Cities Public Television, South Dakota Public Broadcasting, Wisconsin Public Radio, and ideastream in Cleveland. His reporting has netted dozens of accolades, including four national Edward R. Murrow Awards (19 regional), the Ohio Associated Press' Best Reporter Award, Best Radio Reporter from the Native American Journalists Association, and the PRNDI/NEFE Award for Excellence in Consumer Finance Reporting.
Related Content