© 2024 KLCC

136 W 8th Ave
Eugene OR 97401

Contact Us

FCC Applications
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Senator Wyden Joins Democratic Colleagues In Ethics Complaint Against Cruz, Hawley

Brian Bull; U.S. Customs & Border Enforcement; Mizzou CAFNR
KLCC; Flickr.com/https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/

Seven Democratic Senators – including Ron Wyden of Oregon -  are calling on the Ethics Committee to investigate the actions of Republicans Josh Hawley (R-MO) and Ted Cruz (R-TX), related to the January 6th riot at the Capitol.

The senators’ complaint urges the committee to determine if Cruz and Hawley violated Senate ethics rules when they said they would object to the counting of state-certified electors from Arizona and Pennsylvania, respectively.

Such a challenge “amplified claims” of election fraud, argue the Democrats. And casting doubts on the integrity of the 2020 election sparked insurrectionist violence which included the Capitol invasion. A pro-Trump mob threatened lawmakers, including Vice President Mike Pence.  Five people altogether died that day, including a capitol policeman.

The complaint adds that Hawley and Cruz lent legitimacy to the mob’s cause by proceeding with their objections after the deadly riot. And they may have been fundraising during the incident.

If the Senate Ethics Committee determines the two Senators violated rules, they could be censored or expelled.  The complaint also says other lawmakers’ actions that day could be reviewed as well.

Besides Wyden, the other Democratic Senators filing the complaint are Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Tina Smith (D-MN), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Tim Kaine (D-VA), and Sherrod Brown (D-OH).

Copyright 2021, KLCC.

Brian Bull is an assistant professor of journalism at the University of Oregon, and remains a contributor to the KLCC news department. He began working with KLCC in June 2016.   In his 27+ years as a public media journalist, he's worked at NPR, Twin Cities Public Television, South Dakota Public Broadcasting, Wisconsin Public Radio, and ideastream in Cleveland. His reporting has netted dozens of accolades, including four national Edward R. Murrow Awards (22 regional),  the Ohio Associated Press' Best Reporter Award, Best Radio Reporter from  the Native American Journalists Association, and the PRNDI/NEFE Award for Excellence in Consumer Finance Reporting.
Related Content