Incumbents Hold Onto Their Seats On Lane County Board of Commissioners

Jun 6, 2014

Jay Bozievich and Faye Stewart were not defeated by opponents in the May Primary. They were elected to another 4-year term on the Lane County Board of Commissioners, according to final election results released Friday.

Bozievich beat Dawn Lesley by 75 votes in the West Lane race, so there won't be a run-off in November.

Stewart won the East Lane race over four opponents, avoiding a runoff against top challenger Kevin Matthews by just seven votes.

Despite the final results, there is still the possibility of recounts in both races, according to the Register-Guard. Candidates have until June 24th to request a recount from Oregon Secretary of State Kate Brown.

On election day, incumbent Sid Leiken, who represents Springfield on the Lane County Board of Commissioners, was a clear winner with nearly 62% of the votes over his challengers.

The official final election results are posted on the Lane County Elections website.

The Pleasant Hill school bond measure was approved by 18 votes. The $17.9-million dollar bond measure will help the district demolish and rebuild parts of the high school, including the addition of a space for middle schoolers within the high school, update the kitchens and cafeterias, improve technology and safety and make changes to the current parking lot and loop for buses and vehicles. The 20-year bond measure also will help move students out of portable classrooms.