KLCC Wins Two Regional 2020 Edward R. Murrow Awards

May 12, 2020

The Radio Television Digital News Association has announced the winners of the 2020 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, honoring outstanding achievement in broadcast and digital journalism, technical expertise, and adherence to RTDNA’s Code of Ethics. Of the awards given to journalists, the Murrow Awards are among the most respected journalism awards in the world.

Credit RTDNA

KLCC News has won two Regional Murrow Awards:  Overall Excellence and Excellence in Writing.

Just some of the images from 2019's coverage that earned KLCC a regional Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence, Small Market Radio.
Credit Brian Bull, Amy Brenneman, Tiffany Eckert, Rachael McDonald / KLCC

The Overall Excellence award included a newscast by KLCC’s Anni Katz, as well as stories by reporters Chris Lehman, Melorie Begay, Rachael McDonald, Brian Bull, Tiffany Eckert, and Amy Brenneman.  It is the second consecutive year KLCC has won a regional Murrow in this category and division (Small Market Radio).

The Excellence in Writing award went to reporter Brian Bull for his three stories:  Nearly Two Years’ Work by 100 Carvers Yields Totem Pole for Sheldon High; Forests Increasingly Contending with Homeless Encampments’ Waste and Trash; and Ghoulish Teams More than Shovel Ready for Coffin Races. It is the second consecutive year that Bull has won a regional Murrow in this category and division (Small Market Radio).

“KLCC News is a team of standout journalists who ‘hit the mark’ as individuals while also bringing out the best in each other,” observed KLCC General Manager Jim Rondeau.  “The comprehensive coverage KLCC provides to Oregonians can only be achieved when public service is the first objective.  We’re proud of everyone in our newsroom and grateful for the member support that sustains our mission.”

Forest workers clean up waste left behind at an encampment outside of Oakridge, Oregon.
Credit Brian Bull / KLCC

KLCC is judged in the Small Market Radio Region 1 which includes Alaska, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, and Montana.   More than 5,000 entries from across the globe were submitted for this year’s competition. 

Regional winners now advance to the National Murrow Awards Competition that’ll be announced later this year.

Congrats to the KLCC News Team!

Copyright 2020, KLCC.