Ionescu Named National Player of The Year

Mar 23, 2020

Oregon's Sabrina Ionescu (20) celebrates a three-point field goal.
Credit Oregon Athletics

Oregon’s Sabrina Ionescu was unanimously selected as the AP women’s National Player of the Year on Monday. Ionescu is the first Duck to ever win the award, and only the second ever recipient to be selected unanimously.

Ionescu is a top-four finalist for the Naismith Trophy and has appeared on every watch list once again for the Wooden Award and Wade Trophy, all top honors for college basketball. Ionescu was earlier named the Pac-12 Player of the Year for a third straight year.

In her senior season, Ionescu became the first NCAA player in history to history to reach 2,000 career points (2,562), 1,000 assists (1,091) and 1,000 rebounds (1,040). She is Oregon’s all-time leader in points, assists, three-point field goals (329) and double-figure scoring games (134).

Also on Monday, Ionescu was selected as a first-team all-American by the United States Basketball Writers Association, alongside teammate Ruthy Hebard. Oregon’s Satou Sabally was named a second team all-American.

Oregon’s “Big Three” was dominant all season in leading the Ducks to a 31-2 overall record and a sweep of the Pac-12 regular-season and tournament championships for the second time in the last three years.

After winning the Pac-12 Championship Tournament on Mar. 9 in Las Vegas, their season ended abruptly when the NCAA canceled the NCAA Tournament due to coronavirus concerns. The Ducks ended the season ranked No. 2, their highest final ranking ever.

Copyright 2020, KLCC