book review

Book Review: The Fish Market

Nov 2, 2018

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett with a book review of “The Fish Market” by Lee van der Voo.

Well, sure, I like to eat fish.  And I’m concerned about sustainability.   But beyond carrying the Seafood Watch list of endangered fish in my purse, I hadn’t really followed the recent changes in fishing policy in the United States.  Occasional news updates were more confusing than elucidating, with lots of unfamiliar acronyms and bureaucratic red tape.

Book Review: Weather Woman

Oct 5, 2018

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett with a book review of “Weather Woman” by Cai Emmons.

Book Review: Life

Sep 7, 2018

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett with a book review of “Life” by Cynthia Rylant, with illustrations by Brendan Wenzel.

In a stunning new picture book, Newbery Award winner and prolific Oregon author, Cynthia Rylant, has teamed up with the up-and-coming illustrator – and Caledcott Honor winner – Brendan Wenzel.  It’s a cross-generational artistic collaboration that really works.

Book Review: Let Us Build Us a City

Aug 3, 2018

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett with a book review of “Let Us Build Us a City” by Tracy Daugherty.

There are two schools of thought about summer reading.  One, which I remember fondly from carefree deckchairs of the past, consists of the bigger, lighter, sprawling or fast-paced novels.  The perfect beach-read – a vacation in and of itself.  The other is the small, thin, deeper volume, the kind of book that you read slowly.  The kind of book that invites the travels of the mind. 

Book Review: Too Shattered for Mending

Apr 6, 2018

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett with a book review of “Too Shattered for Mending” by Peter Brown Hoffmeister.

I hesitated to read it.  A coming of age story set in the grim poverty of rural Idaho, written from the first person by an abandoned, dyslexic teen who’s in trouble at home, in school, and with the law. I wasn’t sure I wanted to immerse myself in the bleak world of Little McCardell. 

Book Review: How We Became Human

Feb 2, 2018

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of “How We Became Human” by Joy Harjo.

Book Review: The Book of Joan

Jan 5, 2018

This is KLCC. I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of “The Book of Joan” by Lidia Yuknavitch.

Book Review: You Don't Have To Say You Love Me

Nov 3, 2017

I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of “You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me” by Sherman Alexie. 

Book Review: My Last Continent

Oct 6, 2017

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of “My Last Continent” by Midge Raymond.

A trip to Antarctica usually starts from Ushuaia, Argentina, the southernmost city in the world.  It’s motto, “fin del mundo, principio de todo" – “end of the world, beginning of everything" – becomes recurringtheme in  Oregon author Midge Raymond’s new novel, “My Last Continent.”

Book Review: Avenging the Owl

Sep 8, 2017

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of “Avenging the Owl” by Melissa Hart.

Book Review: Wild Man

Aug 4, 2017

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of “Wildman” by J.C. Geiger.

I’ve never been a teenaged boy.  Never been in a ’93 Buick.  So, it was with a little trepidation that I picked up “Wildman,” Eugene author J.C. Geiger’s debut novel.  Though the book has received quite a bit of buzz in the teen market since its colorful “road-trip” launch last spring, I wasn’t sure how accessible – or interesting – it might be to older readers.

BOOK REVIEW: Marrow Island

Jul 7, 2017

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of “Marrow Island” by Alexis M. Smith.

In her lyrical and compelling new novel, Portland based author Alexis Smith walks the tightrope of multiple genres without falling into any easily stereotyped style.  Is “Marrow Island” a mystery? Science fiction? A commentary on cults, or Catholic education?  A screed against the petroleum industry?  A love story?  Well, yes… and, no.

Book Review: The Joy of Swimming

Jun 2, 2017

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "The Joy of Swimming” by Lisa Congdon.

Book Review: On Trails

May 5, 2017

  This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "On Trails” by Robert Moor.

Book Review: Thunder Boy Jr.

Apr 7, 2017

This is KLCC. I'm Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "Thunder Boy Jr." by Sherman Alexie, with illustrations by Yuyi Morales.  

Book Review: Animals Strike Curious Poses

Mar 10, 2017

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "Animals Strike Curious Poses” by Elena Passerello.

Book Review: Shoe Dog

Feb 3, 2017

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of Phil Knight’s "Shoe Dog: A Memoir by the creator of Nike.”

Book Review: Froelich's Ladder

Jan 13, 2017

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "Froelich's Ladder” by Portland writer, Jamie Duclos-Yourdon.

Begin with a baker's dozen of lively characters, sift in two parts magical realism, a pinch of fantasy, and mix in the historical setting of early days in Oregon Country.  And you might end up with an entertaining tall tale, not unlike Jamie Yourdon's debut novel, "Froelich's Ladder."  

Book Review: The Small Backs of Children

Dec 2, 2016

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "The Small Backs of Children” by Lidia Yuknavitch.

Book Review: The Nightingale

Nov 4, 2016

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "The Nightingale” by Kristin Hannah.

Book Review: T is for Time

Oct 7, 2016

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "T is for Time” by Marie and Roland Smith, with illustrations by Renée Graef.

Book Review: The Hour of Land

Sep 2, 2016

This is KLCC. I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "The Hour of Land” by Terry Tempest Williams.

Last weekend marked the centennial of the National Parks Service in the United States, these places Ken Burns has called “America’s Best Idea.” It’s a perfect time to read the diverse essays in Terry Tempest Williams’ “The Hour of Land: A Personal Topography of America’s National Parks.”

Book Review: The Carry Home

Aug 5, 2016

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "The Carry Home” by Gary Ferguson.

Book Review: Love Factually

Jul 1, 2016

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "Love Factually” by Duana Welch. 

Book Review: Life Without a Recipe

Jun 3, 2016

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "Life Without a Recipe” by Diana Abu-Jaber.

A quotation from this book:  “Sometimes I think the older you get, the more memories there are, and the deeper the forest becomes.  A child thinks their life has one smooth shape – always moving straight ahead.  Eventually, though, you start to see how crooked the path is, how the trees move closer, how birds have eaten your trail of crumbs.”

Book Review: People Like You

May 6, 2016

This is KLCC.  I'm Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "People Like You" by Margaret Malone.

Book Review: The Triumph of Seeds

Apr 1, 2016

This is KLCC. I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "The Triumph of Seeds” by Thor Hanson.

I love to explore new ideas through non-fiction in the hands of an excellent writer – “Guns, Germs, and Steel” or “The Beak of the Finch” come to mind. So I expected to enjoy Thor Hanson’s award-winning natural history: “The Triumph of Seeds: How Grains, Nuts, Kernels, Pulses, & Pips Conquered the Plant Kingdom and Shaped Human History.” I wasn’t disappointed!

Book Review: Undermajordomo Minor

Mar 4, 2016

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "Undermajordomo Minor” by Portland writer, Patrick DeWitt.

It’s a deceptively sly and witty book, beginning with the title itself:  our protagonist, young Lucien Minor, comes of age through working as an assistant to the Majordomo at the distant Castle Von Aux.  If that evokes dark forests, snowy peaks and curious escapades, you’re right on target. 

Book Review: The Rewind Files

Feb 5, 2016

This is KLCC.  I’m Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "The Rewind Files” by Claire Willett.

Book Review: This is Your Life, Harriet Chance!

Jan 15, 2016

This is KLCC.  I'm Connie Bennett, Director of Eugene Public Library, with a book review of "This is Your Life, Harriet Chance!" by Jonathan Evison. 

Pages